NCR Constituent Areas

National Capital Region (NCR) is a unique example of inter-state regional planning and development for a region with NCT-Delhi as its core. The NCR as notified covers the whole of NCT-Delhi and certain districts of Haryana, Uttar Pradesh and Rajasthan, covering an area of about 55,083 sq. kms. The sub-region wise area details are as under:

Sub-Region Name of the Districts Area (in sq kms)
Haryana Faridabad, Gurgaon, Mewat, Rohtak, Sonepat, Rewari, Jhajjhar, Panipat, Palwal, Bhiwani (including Charkhi Dadri), Mahendragarh, Jind and Karnal (thirteen districts). 25,327
Uttar Pradesh Meerut, Ghaziabad, Gautam Budh Nagar, Bulandshahr, Baghpat, Hapur,Shamli and Muzaffarnagar (Eight districts). 14,826
Rajasthan Alwar and Bharatpur (two districts). 13,447
Delhi Whole of NCT Delhi. 1,483

National Capital Region: Constituent Areas (as on March, 2017)

Counter Magnet Areas :

The NCR Planning Board Act, 1985, under Section 8 (f), empowers the Board to select any area outside the NCR having regard to its location, population and potential for growth as a ‘Counter Magnet Area’ in consultation with the State Government concerned with a view to achieving the objectives of the Regional Plan. 

At present the NCR Planning Board has identified the following nine counter magnet areas to NCR:

  • Hissar and Ambala in Haryana
  • Bareilly and Kanpur in Uttar Pradesh
  • Kota and Jaipur in Rajasthan
  • Patiala in Punjab
  • Gwalior in Madhya Pradesh
  • Dehradun in Uttrakhand

Note: Board also decided that these Counter-Magnet Areas shall be an area of about 120 kms radius around above identified towns as zone of influence for migration.  The concerned State Governments shall notify their respective Counter Magnet Areas proposed to be developed in & around these towns and prepare Development Plan and Plan of Action for its implementation. 

A map of the Counter Magnet Areas is as follows:


Note: Updated Map of Constituent Areas of NCR is yet to be prepared.